Skip to content Skip to main navigation Skip to footer

Jim Brady


  • Inducted in 2013
  • Builder

Jim Brady has had a long and distinguished role in the development of lacrosse in Whitby and southern Ontario.

He first organized and ran the Lacrosse program for the Oshawa Recreation department from 1953 to 1955. In 1960 he organized the Oshawa Minor Lacrosse Association. He then organized Peewee and Bantam teams to play in the Brooklin Minor Lacrosse League in 1964 and organized the Garrard Road Minor Lacrosse Association in 1965. In 1966 he coached the Garrard Road team as they won the Peewee ‘C’ Provincial Championship which was followed up by the same team winning the Bantam ‘C’ Provincial Championship in 1967 with Jim again as coach.

In 1968 Jim joined the Whitby and Garrard Road Midgets together and finished as the finalists at the Championships. With others, Jim formed the Whitby Junior Lacrosse Association in 1969.

He was: 3rd Vice President of the Ontario Lacrosse Association in 1978 and 1st Vice President in 1979; named Junior ‘A’ Coach of the Year by the Ontario Lacrosse League in 1984, 1989, 1998; Sportsman of the Year in St. Catharines in both 1990 and 1991; and winner of the Tip Teather Trophy as Mr. Lacrosse in 1984.

As either a coach or general manager, he has been to six Minto Cups winning the National Championship with Whitby in 1980 and with St. Catharines in 1990 and 1991. In addition his Whitby Juniors won the Junior ‘B’ National Championship in 1970 and 1974.

Jim was inducted into the Canadian Lacrosse Hall of Fame in 1998 and into the Ontario Lacrosse Hall of Fame in 1998.

In addition to those achievements, Jim has served as Ontario Lacrosse Association Major League Commissioner and as the General Manager, Director and Coach of the National Lacrosse League’s New Jersey Storm (now the Anaheim Storm). In 2012, Jim was recognized with the Queen Elizabeth Jubilee award for his involvement with lacrosse. Jim was previously inducted into the Whitby Sports Hall of Fame as part of a team induction with both the1970 B&R Transporter Jr. ‘B’ Lacrosse team and the 1980 CBC Builders Jr. ‘A’ Lacrosse team.

Back to top