Skip to content Skip to main navigation Skip to footer

Gavin Prout


  • Inducted in 2016
  • Athlete

Whitby’s Gavin Prout began his playing career at a young age and established a foundation for prolonged success by winning several Ontario Lacrosse Association (OLA) minor lacrosse championships under the tutelage of legendary coach, the late Jim Bishop.

Gavin’s individual and team successes continued at the Junior A level, as he led the Whitby Warriors to Minto Cup national championships in 1997 and 1999, earning MVP honours for the 1999 playoffs. In the 1998 season, Gavin was recognized as the OLA’s Most Valuable Player, amassing 125 points in 20 regular season games. Moving on to the senior level, he captured a third national championship, winning the Mann Cup as a member of the Brooklin Redmen in 2000. Over a span of 96 career games with Brooklin, Gavin averaged more than 4.8 points per game, scoring 167 goals and adding 297 assists.

Gavin received a full scholarship to Loyola College, considered the number one program for lacrosse in the National Collegiate Athletic Association (NCAA). In his final season at Loyola, he led the team in scoring with 58 points in 14 games and was named as a First Team All-American. Following his collegiate career, Gavin was a first round draft choice, sixth overall, by the MLL (Major League Lacrosse) Baltimore Bayhawks in professional field lacrosse and was also drafted first overall by the New York Saints of the NLL (National Lacrosse League) in professional indoor lacrosse.

He won 4 MLL titles from 2002 through 2009, and added an NLL championship in 2006 with the Colorado Mammoth. Over his 12-year NLL career, Gavin recorded 660 assists and 983 points, ranking him in the Top 10 all-time in league history for both categories. He was selected as an NLL All-Star on seven occasions and won the NLL Playoff MVP award in 2006 recording 25 points in three games.

Gavin also found success on the international stage, representing Canada in several field and indoor competitions from 1996 to 2007. He was a member of the gold medal-winning team in indoor lacrosse in 2007 and also captured medals in field lacrosse in 1996 (bronze), 2002 (silver), and 2006 (gold).

Back to top